May 20, 2019

Elections for MD 19 Council Chair and Vice Council Chair 2019-2020 were held at each of the nine spring conferences in MD 19. Each ballot was placed in a locked box by the Lion voting. The Locked boxes were collected by the MD19 executive director and kept at the MD office until the last spring conference.

The last spring conference was district G in Kelso WA. The ballot boxes were unlocked and the ballots were counted the conclusion of the conference May 19, 2019, 8:00 AM.

Present at the unlocking and counting of the ballots were MD19 executive director Peter Anderson, elections chair PDG Steve Noble, CC John Kirry, PID Don Shove, PZC George Sim, PDG Tom Smarsh, PID Roger Richert.

Scrutineer for Al Hedstrom was Terry Suftin. Scrutineer for John Moralek was Frankie Moralek. Scrutineer for JD Nellor was Susan Nellor.

The majority of votes for Council chair were cast for Al Hedstrom. All present agreed. The scrutineer was satisfied. Al Hedstrom is elected as MD 19 Council Chair 2019-2020.

The majority votes cast for JD Nellor were "yes". All present agreed. The scrutineer was satisfied. JD Nellor is elected as MD 19 Council Chair 2019-2020.

Only ballots with a check were counted. Ballots with an x or other mark were not counted, as per international rules. Both candidates agreed to this procedure before counting had begun.

Recommendations...

I recommend that the policy manual be updated to allow ballots to be accepted with any mark that is legible and clear. Ballots should be counted based on the intent of the voter. The international rule of disqualifying "X" is based on some cultures using and "X" to mean no. That does not apply in USA and Canada.

Elections Chair Steve Noble

1 LMobu